Australian Capital Territory

Young Economist Award

The Economic Society of Australia established the Young Economist Award in 2006. Prior to 2011 the Award was biannual. In 2011 Central Council amended the rules to allow the Award to be made annually.


To honour that Australian economist under the age of forty who is deemed to have made a significant contribution to one or more of economic thought, economic knowledge, and the application of economics to public policy and public debate.


Any Australian (resident) economist under the age of 40, who is a member of the Society, and who has studied and/or worked in Australia for five out of the previous ten years would be eligible.

The Society will consider nominations of individuals over the age of 40 who have had career interruptions, which when taken into account, would qualify them for nomination.


Selection is determined by a Committee of at least five (5) persons appointed by Central Council. The Committee includes the President (ex-officio), the Editor of the Economic Record (ex-officio), 2 Distinguished Fellows and an ESA Central Council member. Nominations may be made by a Branch. Nominations are to be received by the date set each year by Central Council. The selection committee is to reach a decision in time for the Award to be announced at the next Annual Conference of Economists. Normally, not more than one (1) Award should be made each year. No Award should be made if there is no nominee considered worthy.

Announcement and Presentation

The Award is to be announced and presented at the next Australian Conference of Economists, whenever possible. The Award is to be accompanied by a citation. The Awardee will be invited to present a lecture at the Australian Conference of Economists during the same year.

Recipient 2024

The recipient of the 2024 Young Economist Award is Dr Nathan Deutscher.  Citation to follow

Past recipients

  • 2023 David Byrne
  • 2022 Professor Shuping Shi 
  • 2021 Stefanie Schurer
  • 2020 Professor Markus Brueckner
  • 2019 Professor Gigi Foster
  • 2018 Professor Rachel Ong ViforJ
  • 2016 Professor Lionel Page
  • 2013 Professor Chris Edmond
  • 2011 Andrew Leigh
  • 2009 Professor Paul Fritjers
  • 2007 Professor Joshua Gans

Share this with your friends